Oryx`s father was not hive

In the Taken King expansion we see that he/she has wings. So I thought that he might have the gene of a different species of alien. If the Osmium king was not a hive but was a species that had wings then the gene would have been passed down to him. Oryx is also the only hive to this point; writing this in Feb.; that we know of to have wings. As for Savathun and Xivu-Arath we don`t know if they have wings or not.

I am not an expert on the genes of aliens, or genes in general,but as far as I know if one being has the gene and pases it down to its offspring sometimes the gene dosen`t click?

Savathune might actually have wings because the knights on titan have wings.
Or those might just be capes and they are refugies of the Dreadnought.

1 Like

I would disagree with you. It says at some stage in the books of sorrow that Oryx grew wings. It implies that he decided to. I would also say that in Destiny having interbred alien species seems highly unlikely. Interesting idea though.

1 Like

The race we know as the Hive didn’t exist until after the sisters Aurash, Xi Ro, and Sathona accepted the bargain with the worm gods. This bargain involved taking the larvae of the worm gods into their bodies, allowing them to form a symbiotic relationship with the larvae. The sisters, now known as Auryx, Xivu Arath, and SavathĂ»n, then took the larvae to the rest of their species. Those who accepted the larvae became the Hive, while those who refused were killed. In return for accepting the bargain, the Hive were given immortality and great power.