Do Ghosts have people's souls in them?

So I’m new to this and I hope this gets some attention, even if the topic has been done (if it has I’m sorry if this isn’t new)

So I was surprised when the narrator in the opening cutscene in Destiny 2 had this distinct sound of going from original voice mechanically changing to the ghost voice and the question came to mind. Are ghost people with their souls trapped inside the shell?

Here’s the evidence (Or more so lack of). Ghost do have actual names, it’s shown in the Grimoire Card for the ghost (currently can’t remember the card) but how do they know this when the card says there searching for guardians? My mind jumped to a thought about the collape, when the darkness destroyed most of humanity making the traveler chain itself to earth and birth the ghost. Now people know that that Guardians are a army of the undead who can use light but what about the people who didn’t? I believe when the traveler created the ghost he used the souls of the dead people without the light from the collapse to make the ghost and find guardians with the light in them. In summary our ghost knew us in our past life and it has the soul of someone we knew.

2 Likes

The narration in the opening cutscene is this:

I never knew you in life. Your first life, anyway. You died on a battlefield long before my time.

Regarding the fact that narration turns into North’s ‘Ghost voice’ while he’s saying “…and brought Light to the Ghosts,” it’s probably for dramatic effect more than anything.

That’s probably from Ghost Fragment: Ghosts 2, which contains two named Ghosts, Obsidian and Cassiopeia. However, Ghosts do not have the amnesia associated with Guardians. They were created by the Traveler, and remember this:

Built from machinery and the Traveler’s Light, Ghosts guide their Guardian companions in the quest to reclaim our solar system.